Alliance Board

The Board of the Global Health Workforce Alliance is composed of a selection of the key stakeholders in human resources for health, as well as funders of The Alliance' activities. Board meetings occur twice a year.

Board Chair

Dr. Ushio

Dr Mitsuhiro Ushio

(Government of Japan)

Board Members

Professor Ernest Aryeetey - Alternate: Professor Aaron Lawson

(University of Ghana)

Professor Eric Buch

(University of Pretoria, South Africa)

Dr Fernando Menezes - Alternate: Dr Francisco de Campos

(Government of Brazil)

Ms Susan Chandler - Alternate: Dr Nick Tomlinson


Dr Frances Ganges - Alternate: Ms Frances Day-Stirk

(International Confederation of Midwives)

Dr Timothy Evans - Alternate: Dr Akiko Maeda

(World Bank)

Mr Bjarne Garden - Alternate: Ms Helga Fogstad

(Government of Norway)

Dr Li Guoqin - Alternate: Dr Junhua Zhang

(Government of China)

Dr Marie-Paule Kieny - Alternate: Dr Jan Ties Boerma

(World Health Organization)

Dr Otmar Kloiber

(World Medical Association)

Mr Emmanuel Lebrun-Damiens - Alternate: Ms Mathilde de Calan

(Government of France)

Dr Ariel Pablos-Méndez - Alternate: Dr Estelle E. Quain

U.S. Agency for International Development

Dr George Shakarishvili

(The Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria)

Dr Agnes Soucat - Alternate: Dr Feng Zhao

(African Development Bank)

Professor Srinath K. Reddy - alternate: Prof Jay Satia

(Public Health Foundation of India)

Dr David Weakliam - Alternate: Dr Patrick Empey

(Irish Aid)

Professor Ali Ghufron Mukti

(Government of Indonesia)

Dr Martinho Dgedge

(Government of Mozambique)

Dr Haruna Lule

(Health Worker seat)

Previous Board Chairs

Dr Lincoln Chen (Global Equity Initiative)

(May 2006-April 2008)

Dr Sigrun Møgedal (Government of Norway)

(May 2008-January 2011)

Dr Masato Mugitani (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare, Japan)

(January 2011 – May 2013)

Previous Board Members

  • Ms. Kathy Cahill (Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation)
  • Dr Eric Friedman (Physicians for Human Rights)
  • Ambassador Eric Goosby (PEPFAR)
  • Dr Marie-Odile Waty (Government of France)
  • Dr Suwit Wibulpolprasert (Government of Thailand / AAAH)
  • Professor Miriam K. Were (AMREF)

GHWA board meeting reports