Water Sanitation Health

Previous editions of the Guidelines for Drinking-Water Quality

Since 1958 WHO has periodically published "International Standards for Drinking-Water" and later "Guidelines for Drinking-Water Quality". The current third edition, including the first addendum is available online as well as the third edition (2004), the second edition and other volumes in this collection.

Third edition (2004) without the first addendum

Second edition

First edition

  • Volume 1. Recommendations, 1984
  • Volume 2. Health criteria and other supporting information, 1984
  • Volume 3. Drinking-water quality control in small-community supplies, 1985

International Standards for Drinking-Water

  • Surveillance of Drinking-water Quality, 1976
  • International Standards for Drinking-water, 3rd ed., 1971
  • International Standards for Drinking-Water, 2nd ed., 1963
  • International Standards for Drinking-Water, 1st ed., 1958

European Standards for Drinking-Water