Essential medicines and health products

External quality assurance assessment scheme (EQAAS)

EQAAS is a coordinating scheme organized by WHO with the assistance of the European Directorate for the Quality of Medicines & HealthCare (EDQM) with a view to evaluating the technical performance of pharmaceutical quality control laboratories designated by WHO.

EQAAS gives each participating laboratory the opportunity to measure its performance through a confidential system of testing of blind samples and to determine its ability to perform a given analytical procedure within a network of national or regional quality control laboratories. Its aim is to continue the promotion of quality assurance in pharmaceutical quality control laboratories in WHO Member States.

Since initiated in 2000, the Scheme has entered its fifth phase period, running from 1 January 2010-31 December 2012. About 60 pharmaceutical quality control laboratories from WHO six regions participate in the Phase 5 studies.

Planned proficiency tests in Phase 5
Test Sample
Dissolution test Artemether and lumefantrine tablets
Density and pH measurement Abacavir oral solution
Assay by high- performance liquid chromatography Amodiaquine and artesunate tablets
Dissolution test Rifampicin capsules
Related substances by thin-layer chromatography Artemether and lumefantrine oral suspension

Related information