Media centre

WHO Executive Board reappoints Regional Director

The World Health Organization (WHO) Executive Board, currently holding its 120th session in Geneva, has reappointed Dr Hussein A. Gezairy as Regional Director for the WHO Eastern Mediterranean Region (EMRO).

Dr Gezairy was born in Saudi Arabia in 1934. He received his MD degree from the Faculty of Medicine, Cairo University and obtained his PhD in the United Kingdom. He is the founding dean of the first faculty of medicine in Saudi Arabia and served as Minister of Health of Saudi Arabia from 1976 to 1982.

Dr Gezairy will begin a new term as Regional Director on 1 October 2007. He first became Regional Director for EMRO in 1982.

The WHO EMRO is made up of 21 Member States. They are: Afghanistan, Bahrain, Djibouti, Egypt, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Morocco, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.

The WHO Executive Board is comprised of representatives from 34 WHO Member States. The individuals are designated by Member States elected by the World Health Assembly (WHA). The main functions of the Executive Board are to give effect to the decisions and policies of the WHA, to advise it and generally facilitate its work. This 120th session is scheduled to conclude on 30 January.

For more information contact:

Christine McNab
Acting-Director, WHO Communications Department
Telephone: +41 22 791 4688
Mobile phone: +41 79 254 6815