Strengthening health security by implementing the International Health Regulations (2005)

External review of pandemic response - members of the review committee

Members of the Review Committee on the functioning of the IHR (2005) and assessment of the international preparedness and response to the pandemic of influenza [H1N1] 2009.

  • Dr Preben Aavitsland, Department Director/State Epidemiologist, Department of Infectious Disease Epidemiology, Norwegian Institute of Public Health, Oslo, Norway
  • Professor Tjandra Aditama, Director General of Disease Control and Environmental Health, Ministry of Health, Jakarta, Indonesia
  • Dr Silvia Bino (Rapporteur), Associate Professor of Infectious Diseases, Head, Control of Infectious Diseases Department, Institute of Public Health, Tirana, Albania
  • Dr Eduardo Hage Carmo, Former Director, Epidemiologic Surveillance, Ministry of Health, Brasilia, Brazil
  • Dr Martin Cetron, Director, Division of Global Migration and Quarantine, National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, Georgia, United States of America
  • Dr Omar El Menzhi, Director, Directorate of Epidemiology and Disease Control, Ministry of Health, Rabat, Morocco
  • Dr Yuri Fedorov, Deputy Director, Federal Centre on Plague Control, Federal Service for Surveillance of Consumer Rights Protection and Human Well-Being, Moscow, Russian Federation
  • Dr Harvey V. Fineberg (Chair), President, Institute of Medicine, Washington, D.C., United States of America
  • Mr Andrew Forsyth, Team Leader, Public Health Legislation and Policy, Office of the Director of Public Health, Ministry of Health, Wellington, New Zealand
  • Dr Claudia González, Partner-Director, Epi-Sur Consultores, and Professor, Center of Epidemiology and Public Health Policy, Universidad del Desarrollo, Santiago, Chile
  • Dr Mohammad Mehdi Gouya, Director-General, Centre for Disease Control, Ministry of Health and Medical Education, Tehran, Iran
  • Dr Amr Mohamed Kandeel, Chief of Cabinet, Minister's Office, Ministry of Health, Cairo, Egypt
  • Dr Arlene King, Chief Medical Officer of Health, Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Professor Abdulsalami Nasidi, Former Director, Public Health, Federal Ministry of Health, Abuja, Nigeria
  • Professor Paul Odehouri-Koudou, Director, National Institute of Public Hygiene, Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire
  • Dr Nobuhiko Okabe, Director of Infectious Disease Surveillance Center, National Institute of Infectious Diseases, Tokyo, Japan
  • Dr Palliri Ravindran, Director, Emergency Medical Relief, Directorate General of Health Services, Ministry of Health, New Delhi, India
  • Professor Dr Mahmudur Rahman, Director of the Institute of Epidemiology, Disease Control and Research and National Influenza Centre, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Dhaka, Bangladesh
  • Professor José Ignacio Santos, Professor and Head of the Infectious Diseases Unit, Department of Experimental Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, National Autonomous University of Mexico, Mexico City, Mexico
  • Ms Palanitina Tuipuimatagi Toelupe, Director General of Health and Chief Executive Officer of the Ministry of Health, Samoa
  • Professor Patricia Ann Troop, Independent, Former Chief Executive, Health Protection Agency, London, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Dr Kumnuan Ungchusak, Senior Expert in Preventive Medicine, Bureau of Epidemiology, Department of Disease Control, Ministry of Public Health, Bangkok, Thailand
  • Professor Kuku Voyi, Professor and Department Head, School of Health Systems and Public Health, University of Pretoria, Pretoria, South Africa
  • Professor Yu Wang, Director General of Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Beijing, China
  • Dr Sam Zaramba, Senior Consultant Surgeon, Former Director General of Health Services, Ministry of Health, Kampala, Uganda

Note: The Review Committee wishes to acknowledge the participation of the following members who resigned during the course of its work: Dr Anthony Evans, Professor John Mackenzie, Dr Ziad Memish, and Dr Babatunde Osotimehin.