Food Safety and Zoonoses

Codex Trust Fund

Eligible Countries

As the Codex Trust Fund is specifically aimed at helping developing countries and countries in transition, not all members of Codex are eligible to apply to the Trust Fund. Eligibility is reviewed annually and is based on the four official classifications produced within the United Nations system:

  • the list of Least Developed Countries established by the United Nations Economic and Social Council;
  • the World Bank classification of economies;
  • the UNDP Human Development Index;
  • the list of Small Island Developing States established by the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Division for Sustainable Development.

New Codex members meeting the criteria for inclusion are immediately eligible.