Food safety

Codex adopts new Food Standards

The 38th session of the Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC) was held from 6 to 11 July in Geneva. 141 countries and the European Union discussed and adopted new food safety and quality standards. The Commission recognized the work that had been accomplished through the Codex Trust Fund to raise awareness of the importance of Codex in developing and transition economy countries, and gave their full support to the Codex Trust Fund 2 which will commence operations in January 2016. The primary mission of the Codex Alimentarius Commission is to ensure safe, good food for everyone, everywhere.

International food standards (Codex Alimentarius)

The Codex Alimentarius Commission is a joint intergovernmental body of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and WHO with 185 Member States and one Member Organization (EU). Codex has worked since 1963 to create harmonized international food standards to protect the health of consumers and ensure fair trade practices.

WHO works on the provision of independent international scientific advice on microbiological and chemical hazards. Scientific advice is the basis for the development of international Food Standards by Codex.



The Global Initiative for Food-related Scientific Advice (GIFSA) has been established in 2007 to ensure sustainable funding of the FAO/WHO activities on the provision of scientific advice to the Codex Alimentarius Commission and Member Countries. Contributions are accepted from governments, organizations and foundations in accordance with WHO and FAO rules.

Educational video: Five keys to safer food

WHO department Food Safety and Zoonoses