African Programme for Onchocerciasis Control (APOC)

Country profiles

APOC’s mandate covers 19 African countries:

In three of these countries – Kenya, Mozambique and Rwanda – early mapping studies showed that onchocerciasis was present in a few areas, but at low, hypo-endemic levels. These three countries were therefore not considered priority areas for the APOC strategy of mass ivermectin treatment. Instead, they were encouraged to establish clinic-based treatment, so remained outside the operational scope of APOC.

In 2006, APOC’s mandate was expanded to include support to four countries previously under the scope of the Onchocerciasis Control Programme in West Africa (OCP), where the disease is still present:

  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Ghana
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Sierra Leone.

In these countries, APOC organizes meetings of the ex-OCP national coordinators, and organizes cross-border meetings in order to strengthen onchocerciasis surveillance systems.

APOC and OCP: 15 meso/hyper endemic APOC countries, 4 hypo-endemic APOC countries, 4 ex-OCP countries

All JAF documents

APOC wins António Champalimaud Vision Award 2011

The magazine "15 years of APOC"

Map of the estimated prevalence of eye worm history in Africa


Yaoundé declaration

Yaoundé Declaration on Onchocercaisis Control in Africa

African ministers of health renew their commitment to eliminate onchocerciasis.

Contact us

Dr Roungou Jean Baptiste
Director, APOC
B.P. 549
Ouagadougou 01
Burkina Faso